Biafran Or Not, Spoils of War

Ignore the surname,
Check the blood vein,

She ran not for her life,
But for the little ones she left with strangers,

Help me watch them,
I’ll be back soon,

Mom was two,
Just learning to talk,

Far from home,
Until it was over, where they traced back,

Time flew and seasons passed,
She was never seen,

I listened and wondered,
What if she isn’t dead yet,

Started a new life,
More steps on steps,

I fall in love one day,
One of the steps

Would that be incest?
What happened to them?

Thoughts on my way home from Enugu. WrittenΒ  for displaced families, individuals and most of all,Β  the Mother my mom never knew or remember, my Grandma.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Nice one Margo!

    Like

  2. Great art Margaret

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

