Natural Hair: Worth the Hype

Hello CAMAA Republicans!

I hope we’ve been having a splufic week. Caring for our body, soul and spirit. Incase you didn’t know or guess from the title, I grow my 4C hair (click here for how to determine your hair type) without chemicals.

Lots of friends and folks ask me lots of question concerning natural hair; care and growth. I’ve been asking myself why I haven’t shared my hair journey or something relating to hair. I still haven’t come up with answers. Here’s a long but short piece about deciding to grow natural hair.

First things first.
You have to decide if you want to be as you are or as they want you to be. They being the chemical product producers who produce some products they think would solve your problem which it does in the beginning or complicate the problem.
:):)

For me,  I decided to go natural because my hair growth was stagnant and very thin. It didn’t have weight or volume anymore. I made the decision about two years ago.

Next thing you should ponder on
The big chop(BC) or the transitioning.
I opted for transitioning.  I couldn’t go through not having hair on my head. For newbies in the natural hair world,  Big Chop entails cutting your hair to the lowest of the low. You get? The African Queen look.
Transitioning on the other hand involves letting your hair grow normally but not applying chemicals or relaxer to it.  Two textures are then on your head.  The relaxed one on top and as we call it,  the virgin hair below. It takes patience and protective styling to manage hair during transitioning.
I transitioned for a year. It was fun. Was on on artificial dreadlocks for over four months. After chopping off came the greatest challenge.

Acceptance
Not by me.  I love my hair no matter the condition but,  folks around me were not in the same mood. My only supporter was my mom. I had good days and bad days, as you would soon have. When I get tired of thinking of which style to do,  I just let it fro or pin it to a frohawk.

Products
I can hype natural hair from now till forever. It’s cheap!
Some peeps think it’s quite expensive. But sincerely, when has man not made simple things more complicated?

The basic things one need to survive as a natural hair keeper are:
– Water
– Oils (olive oil and coconut oil)
– Butters (Shea butter or cocoa butter)
– Black soap or sulphate free shampoo
– Eggs and honey (for deep conditioning)
– Spray bottle!
– Bobby pins
– Silk or satin bonnets or scarves (hair net not allowed)

Others are:
– Styling gels
– Deep conditioning product
– Leave in conditioner
– Rollers
– Essential oils etc.

All this written, natural hair is worth the hype. Worth the look also.  Make your decision. Go get your natural hair basic necessities, so I can move to the next phase. I’ll be posting about my daily and weekly regimen i.e. times I shampoo, deep condition, comb, and the likes soon.

image
Goofing around with my hair

Thanks for reading dear Republican.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. honorireland says:

    You are beautiful! X

    Like

    1. CAMAA says:

      Thank you 😇😇

      Like

  2. We need to talk about this soon on phone… Awesome one

    Like

  3. FX says:

    Great article friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mehn, you know i’ve never really been to your blog but i gotta say; you’re doing some nice work up here, big ups! and keep up the good work.

    Like

  5. Naturalista4me says:

    Great read! I tell people all the time that being on a natural hair journey doesn’t have to be expensive. What makes it expensive is when you become a product junkie. I remember those days in the beginning of my own journey.

    Like

    1. CAMAA says:

      I think its a phase, being a product junkie 😂😂😂 I was using bout four creams for my hair initially…😂😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Naturalista4me says:

        Lol! Yes.

        Like

  6. ladyafrican says:

    I decided today to go natural. I will be taking the transitioning route as I had the African Queen look not long ago. Excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. CAMAA says:

      YAAY!!
      Welcome, welcome.
      I’m here for you 😀😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

